The 15th Asian Film Awards Nominations Announced

The Asian Film Awards Academy (AFAA) announced today the nominees of the 15th Asian Film Awards (AFA15).

Mainland China’s One Second, South Korea’s The Book of Fish, India’s The Disciple, and two Japanese films, Wheel of Fortune and Fantasy and Wife of a Spy are competing for this year’s “Best Film Award.”

World renowned directors, ZHANG Yimou, LEE Joon-ik, KUROSAWA Kiyoshi and internationally acclaimed HAMAGUCHI Ryusuke, and Adilkhan YERZHANOV are in a tight race for “Best Director.”

In 2020, the 14th Asian Film Awards moved to Busan, South Korea for the first time and was held online due to Covid-19 restrictions. This year the awards will be held again in conjunction with the Busan International Film Festival on 8 October 2021 (Friday). The ceremony will commence in a hybrid form, which combines on-site attendance in Busan and online participation.

The AFAA is honoured that legendary South Korean filmmaker, LEE Chang-dong will be this year's Jury President. LEE was the lifetime award recipient at the 13thAsian Film Awards. He won the “Best Director Award” at Venice Film Festival with his third feature film, Oasis in 2002. His fourth feature, Secret Sunshine (2007) earned its lead actress, JEON Do-yeon, the “Best Actress Award” at the 61st Cannes Film Festival in 2007. His next work, Poetry (2010) won the “Best Screenplay Award” at the 63rd Cannes Film Festival in 2010; LEE’s following feature Burning (2018) was based on MURAKAMI Haruki’s short story “Barn Burning,” won the FIPRESCI award in Cannes Film Festival.

Inaugurated in 2007, the Asian Film Awards celebrates excellence in Asian cinema through the annual presentation of awards to talents and films that make up the dynamic film industries of Asia. It originated in Hong Kong, but is held in different Asian locations such as Busan and Macao, to reflect its reach across the region.


Nominations for the 15th Asian Film Awards:
●Best Film
One Second (Mainland China)
The Book of Fish (South Korea)
The Disciple (India)
Wheel of Fortune and Fantasy (Japan)
Wife of a Spy (Japan)

●Best Director
ZHANG Yimou | One Second (Mainland China)
LEE Joon-ik | The Book of Fish (South Korea)
HAMAGUCHI Ryusuke | Wheel of Fortune and Fantasy (Japan)
KUROSAWA Kiyoshi | Wife of a Spy (Japan)
Adilkhan YERZHANOV | Yellow Cat (Kazakhstan, France)

●Best Actor
MO Tzu-Yi | Dear Tenant (Taiwan)
LAM Ka Tung | Limbo (Hong Kong)
ZHANG Yi | One Second (Mainland China)
YAKUSHO Koji | Under The Open Sky (Japan)
YOO Ah-in | Voice of Silence (South Korea)

●Best Actress
CHEN Shu-Fang | Little Big Women (Taiwan)
ZHANG Zifeng | Sister (Mainland China)
JUN Jong-seo | The Call (South Korea)
Assel SADVAKASSOVA | Ulbolsyn (Kazakhstan, France)
AOI Yu | Wife of a Spy (Japan)

●Best Supporting Actor
YU Ailei | Cliff Walkers (Mainland China)
PARK Jeong-min | Deliver Us From Evil (South Korea)
TSE Kwan Ho | Drifting (Hong Kong)
KIM Hyun-bin | The Silent Forest (Taiwan)
UNO Shohei | The Voice of Sin (Japan)

●Best Supporting Actress
QIN Hailu | Cliff Walkers (Mainland China)
Loletta LEE | Drifting (Hong Kong)
HSIEH Ying-Xuan | Little Big Women (Taiwan)
JANG Yoon-ju | Three Sisters (South Korea)
MAKITA Aju | True Mothers (Japan)

●Best New Director
HARUMOTO Yujiro | A Balance (Japan)
P.S. Vinothraj | Pebbles (India)
YIN Ruoxin | Sister (Mainland China)
HAN Shuai | Summer Blur (Mainland China)
Ahmad BAHRAMI | The Wasteland (Iran)
HONG Eui-jeong | Voice of Silence (South Korea)

●Best Newcomer
GONG Seung-yeon | Aloners (South Korea)
HATTORI Misaki | Midnight Swan (Japan)
LIU Haocun | One Second (Mainland China)
Rouhollah ZAMANI | Sun Children (Iran)
CHEN Yan-Fei | The Silent Forest (Taiwan)

●Best Screenplay
CHEN Yu-Hsun | My Missing Valentine (Taiwan)
YOU Xiaoying | Sister (Mainland China)
Chaitanya TAMHANE | The Disciple (India)
HONG Eui-jeong | Voice of Silence (South Korea)

●Best Editing
LI Yongyi | Cliff Walkers (Mainland China)
KIM Hyung-joo | Deliver Us From Evil (South Korea)
LAI Hsiu-Hsiung | My Missing Valentine (Taiwan)
Hassan HASSANDOUST | Sun Children (Iran)
Tina BAZ, SHIBUYA Yoichi | True Mothers (Japan)

●Best Cinemtography
TSUKINAGA Yuta | Any Crybabies Around? (Japan)
ZHAO Xiaoding | Cliff Walkers (Mainland China)
HONG Kyeong-pyo | Deliver Us From Evil (South Korea)
CHENG Siu Keung | Limbo (Hong Kong)
Masoud Amini Tirani | The Wasteland (Iran)
Yerkinbek PTYRALIYEV | Yellow Cat (Kazakhstan, France)

●Best Original Music
CHO Young Wuk | Cliff Walkers (Mainland China)
Mowg | Deliver Us From Evil (South Korea)
Lao Zai | One Second (Mainland China)
Day TAI | The Way We Keep Dancing (Hong Kong)

●Best Costume Design
CHEN Minzheng | Cliff Walkers (Mainland China)
CHO Sang-kyung, KWAK Jung-ae | Space Sweepers (South Korea)
SHIM Hyun-seob | The Book of Fish (South Korea)
KOKETSU Haruki | Wife of a Spy (Japan)
Yermek UTEGENOV | Yellow Cat (Kazakhstan, France)

●Best Production Design
LI Miao | A Writer's Odyssey (Mainland China)
Gokuldas | Labyrinth (India)
Kenneth MAK | Limbo (Hong Kong)
LEE Jae-sung | The Book of Fish (South Korea)
ATAKA Norifumi | Wife of a Spy (Japan)

●Best Visual Effects
Eric XU, Allen WEI | A Writer's Odyssey (Mainland China)
Tomi KUO | My Missing Valentine (Taiwan)
ODA Issei | Ora, Ora Be Goin' Alone (Japan)
JUNG Sung-jin, JUNG Chul-min | Space Sweepers (South Korea)
Tim CROSBIE, Joy WU | The Eight Hundred (Mainland China)

●Best Sound
HIRONAKA Chiyori | Any Crybabies Around? (Japan)
Renganaath RAVEE | Labyrinth (India)
Nopawat LIKITWONG | Limbo (Hong Kong)
CHOI Tae-young | Space Sweepers (South Korea)
FU Kang | The Eight Hundred (Mainland China)


Please contact us if any questions,
Tel: +852 3195 0608
Address: Unit D2, 4/F, Freder Centre, 68 Sung Wong Toi Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong